BJH

By BJH

Sharing a leaf

It had been overcast from the moment I got out of bed and I really thought that we would not see the sun at all today. How wrong was I though! There were already some patches of blue sky when I arrived at the sanctuary and when the sun came out it didn't stop shining until I had finished my walk with one of the dogs.

I had already taken a few photos on my courtyard before I left the house because I hadn't expected to find anything to blip at the park but when the sun appeared, so did this butterfly, a dragonfly and a bug shield. Instead of no blip at all, I suddenly faced the dilemma of having to choose between several of them. I eventually chose this photo because it was the only one that I had already found a title for the moment I took it.

I had my compact camera in my pocket when this Speckled Wood butterfly landed on the ivy but I was afraid that I might scare it off if I had to get too close to it so I decided to take off my rucksack and get the Nikon out, hoping the butterfly would not fly off. While I was taking the camera out of my rucksack, a fly had landed next to it and fortunately both stayed still until I'd taken the photo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.