The Eagle Has Landed

As I looked out of the window this morning I noticed a big pile of feathers under the apple tree. Just as I was about to go out and investigate this eagle flapped down with something red and fleshy and dead in it's claws.
I generally call all birds of prey eagles.
Apart from Red Kites which I do recognise!
A quick Google search extensive research leads me to believe that this is a sparrowhawk but I may be wrong!
It proceeded to tear the unfortunate pigeon to pieces - feathers and guts everywhere!
It seemed quite oblivious as I edged closer and closer to get a better view but, of course, it eventually got spooked and flew off.
I was hoping it would come back but it didn't so now I've got entrails and pigeon limbs all over the garden. Nice.
I am absolutely knackered! Mr K has been off on a jolly work conference thing since Monday so I've been on my own which is tiring enough but added to that I don't seem to be able to sleep without my husband in the house and every time I attempt to turn out the light I get the heebie-jeebies and start hearing things: creaks and footsteps and unidentified scary noises.
Well there are killer cows and eagles round here!!!
So I end up watching TV until the small hours when I eventually fall asleep. Monday night I stayed up and watched The Holiday and last night I blubbed my way through Love Actually until 1am and then channel surfed for another hour!!
This morning Miss L woke up covered in poo at 6.30 which is always a lovely way to start the day.....
Come home soon Mr K, I need some sleep!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.