snstephen

By snstephen

Standing on the shoulders of giants

One of the great traditions of vow day is the presentation of a crucifix to the 'vow men'. They are not just any old crucifixes, but ones that have been handed down from previous generations of Jesuits. We receive the crucifix as we enter the Society and then when we die it is passed on to the next generation.

This morning, I was given the opportunity to look through the crucifixes, and take today's picture of the day. Pointed out to me were crucifixes from some well-known and well-loved names from the Society's past. I don't know which crucifix I will be given, but what I do know is that this tradition provides a wonderful sense of connection and continuity. It is one of many thought-provoking symbolic acts that have been peppered throughout this week.

I love a sport called Crossfit (the sport of fitness as it describes itself) and a deeply ingrained part of the culture of Crossfit is community. That is shown in many ways, but my favourite is the fact that those who finish a particular workout don't just pat themselves on the back and head straight for showers, instead they cheer and encourage those who are still to cross the line. There has been many a day when I've had a group of the faster, fitter and more able athletes standing round, shouting the encouragement I need to push out one more repetition or do one more round.

That image came to my mind this morning as I looked at all those crucifixes, owned by men who have now run the race and crossed the finishing line.

St Ignatius encourages us to begin our prayers by placing ourselves before the 'court of heaven'. Indeed, that is part of our vow formula tomorrow. And so I like to think that tomorrow these men will be part of that heavenly throng. In my mind, they will be cheering me, and my fellow 'vow men', on, Crossfit-style. Giving us all the encouragement we need as we seek to follow in their footsteps.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.