Heat Waves

I took this picture of the mountains behind our house on the way home from an 8am Pilates class.. It looks rather foggy and cool, but that's not fog in the air. It's smoke from several fires burning north of us. The thermometer in my car  
was climbing fast. We have air conditioning, but are being told to use power judiciously in order to 'spare the air". I think it might be too late for that. It's the grid I'm worried about if everybody has their AC  going at once....

The extra shows the temperature on the remote thermometer in our living room. It's connected to a little weather station on top of the arbor.  I don't think I have ever seen a temperature that high except for once on a trip through Death Valley in July. The birds have all gone to ground, and there are no passing cars or trucks, no barking dogs, no weed whackers or leaf blowers. There's not even a breath of air stirring. It's eerie. I stepped out the front door thinking I would go down and get the mail, and it was like stepping into a blast furnace. The mail can wait. It's too hot to think out there.

It's not as if I don't know about heat. I have lived in California almost all my life. I like hot weather. I love the warm mornings and the long evenings. I love getting dressed in a t-shirt and a pair of shorts in 10 seconds. I know about walking slowly and wearing a hat. I'm used to September being the warmest month of the year.But this is unprecedented. And it's a little scary...If I believed in God I would say He is very angry at us. I do believe in Mother Nature, and I think She is trying very hard to tell us something before it is too late....

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.