Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

David Hoyle

I had a rush of blood to the head this evening and, on a whim, jumped on a train to Manchester to see David Hoyle.

I last blipped David back in October 2014 https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/4922532 so I think he's about due for another mention here!

He's a performance artist/anti-drag queen/painter/singer and goodness knows what else www.huckmagazine.com/art-and-culture/print/david-hoyle-performance/ and he's recently been working with a group of LGBT+ people in Manchester to create art about addiction and recovery.

It's part of a wider project which is also looking at the same issues within the South Asian and Disabled communities https://homemcr.org/event/portraits-recovery-present-apples-fruits/ and there was a launch event for all three projects this evening at Ezra and Gil cafe (where, incidentally, I once spent a very pleasant afternoon with WhiskyFoxtrot, of this parish).

David, inevitably, stole the show. He sang, he danced, he painted a portrait of a woman he'd picked randomly from the attendees, he made everyone laugh. I was glad I'd made the trip over!

Afterwards, I had a chat with him outside before I sprinted back to Piccadilly Station for my train.


Here’s Judy Garland with a song that David sang tonight to a backing track of the sound made by an MRI scanner (no scanner noises are evident in Judy’s version!) www.youtube.com/watch?v=7NUMGrad4bY

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.