Jasper and the first timer

My friend Angelique did her first parkrun today and I'd volunteered as funnel manager so I could shout loudly at her encourage her finish.

It was a beautiful morning and I'd been out early for my own run before I headed to the park.  I collected my hi viz and was chatting to some of the other volunteers when our VC asked if I minded swapping to 'timekeeper' as 2 U18's had been put on timekeeping and they prefer to have a 'responsible adult''in one of the roles.  

I'd have been happy to swap to help out anyway but as 'timekeeper' was  one of the roles that I have yet to do (am aiming to have a stint at every (non-core) job this year), despite my own reservations about the 'responsible adult' part, it was not a problem at all.

Ran through the instructions with the VC and I was all set to go.

I took some pictures of people chatting.  Others were warming up.  I chatted to some parkrun tourists from Tonbridge about the hotel they'd stayed in and were returning to for breakfast afterwards (it's where I often eat breakfast before work)

I listened to the race briefing and waited for the 'GO'

Since I was going to be at the end of the course I knew that I had at least 15 minutes from the 'Go' to be in position and got my camera out to take some photos until then.

I stayed near the start and enjoyed the RD cheering on, by name, many of the participants.  I took lots of pictures and whooped my friend as she passed..  

Luckily, there is a group of regular runners at the event who I recognise and as I saw them approaching for the second time (it's a 2 lap course), I was able to join the other timekeeper, the funnel manager and the token distributor at the finish.

The job starts off quite leisurely, clicking each time a runner comes through. (18 minutes and 13 seconds today)  During the middle section it can get a bit chaotic as groups of people arrive together, often racing neck to neck to the line. I now understand the need to have 2 timekeepers as my opposite number double clicked at around the 60 person mark, when a group ran through.  As we were regularly checking that we were still in sync, this was quickly spotted and a note made by the funnel manager.  

The funnel manager told me that she was volunteering as part of her D of E.  It took me a moment or two to think what that was.  (One of my fellow art trail committee members did her duke of edingburgh award a few years back). I will ask her more about it next time I see her but for today I had to concentrate on the task in hand.

At around the 250 mark I counted a small child that crossed the line but was not actually taking part. but again, the anomaly was quickly spotted.  
I also managed to cheer on someone, by name, that I recognised from school who came to had a chat with me at the finish.  Her mother taught at our school and I'd not seen her for 35 years.   Her mum is 80 this week and mine is 70 in October.  She lives in Spain and has 2 children and 2 dogs.  We will both be 50 in October.  She is getting married for her 50th.  I am not.

The last few parkrunners came through at around 53 minutes.  Gabbi is a regular who has MS and walks with 2 poles (see extra) She has fantastic energy and enthusiasm and always a smile.  She also volunteers and was helping pack up this week.  

The tail walker had started off with his dog who'd he'd told me ws called Poppy.  I congratulated Poppy on her walk only to find out that she had been subbed by Blaze.  He was not worried that I'd called him a girl.

My friend finished in a much faster time than I ever do and looking much fresher than I ever do.  Her partner told me he is feeling inspired to join in too.  I hope that he does.

I headed back to the car and helped out some visitors with the parking ticket machine.  They were planning to spend the whole day in town so had a quick chat with them too before heading home for breakfast.

I love the parkrun community more each time I take part and I think that timekeeper was my favourite job so far too.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.