Getting the sparkle back

By DomesticGoddess

Feeding from both sides

This isn't a brilliant picture, but it's my blip today as it's the first time I've seen baby moorhens at Blackford Pond. And aren't they tiny? I hope they will grow quickly so that they stand a chance of surviving the winter. I've included an extra photo where you can see the babies more clearly, including the long, long legs of the nearest chick.

I hadn't been to Blackford Pond for two months so was wondering what the wildlife would have been up to. There is a huge amount of weed/algae which doesn't look very healthy. The cygnet from a year ago is still there, now all in white, just the bill isn't as orange as an adult's. And there seems to be a definite menage a trois with the adult pair tolerating the cygnet at close quarters on the island. It will be interesting to see what happens in the spring.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.