Carter Bar

When I was visiting my grandparents in the Scottish borders many years ago I can recall reference being made to the Carter Bar.  

It wasn't until very recently that I realised that this was a nearby pass over the hills into England.  I visited it today and learnt a bit about the history of the place.  The last major battle between Scotland and England was fought here in 1575 (The Raid of the Redeswire).  

Apparently there was supposed to be discussion of a truce between the two sides, and the English turned up with an army.  However the English commander was known for being a bit of a cad, so the Scots had reinforcements nearby.  Net result: Scotland won, England lost.

The picture is taken from the top of the pass looking North into Scotland.

4636

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.