Breathe In And Out...

By ScotNatureBoy

The one where I show that brownfield is beautiful

I took a lunchtime walk across the large brownfield (i.e. formerly developed land) site next to my office. Once the site and grounds of Raploch Primary School, it was also the location, just prior to the London Olympics, of the Big Noise concert that kicked off the Cultural Olympiad. Brownfield sites can often be surprisingly good habitats for wildlife, especially for invertebrates. Buglife, the invertebrate conservation charity, provides lots of information on the importance of brownfield sites for wildlife. But, although I saw lots of hoverflies, bees, wasps and crane flies on the site, the stiff breeze made it impractical to take any decent photos. And so, I decided to use this picture, showing how attractive the site is, sitting, as it does, nestled at the foot of Stirling Castle! I'll be exploring this site again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.