Steve Kirkham

By SteveKirkham

Hopehead in the Snow

At last, Blip 100, it's only taken me 4 years minus one day. As my school reports used to say, "Could try harder".

I wanted to blip something special to mark the occasion, and to me this is very special for a number of reasons. 

It's the first ever photo that I've liked enough to actually have enlarged and printed on canvas to hang on the wall. The shadow on the right is because it's hanging in our hall way.

It's a beautiful place.

The owners are firends of ours and are a wonderful couple who we don't see enough of.


The house is Hopehead Cottage, on the fells just outide Allendale in Northumberland and is a Grade 2 listed building. more informatiom here.

It was bought as a ruin, this picture  gives you an idea of how bad it was. It has now been completely restored and was the subject of 2 editions of the TV program 'Build a New Life in the Country'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.