United enemies

These huge sculptures are by the German artist Thomas Schütte whose exhibition at the Serpentine Gallery in Hyde Park has just opened. It wasn't really on my wish list but I didn't have time to go to either of the Tates and I rather fancied a walk in the park.

The exhibition included the artist's work in several different mediums but the sculptures were the most impressive, some of them monumental in size.

These two pairs of grotesque warring figures, yoked together in a baleful bondage (of which the meaning was not clear), reminded me of the giant carnival puppets that can be seen across Europe and South America. They reared up above the curious passers-by who shrank away when they saw me with my camera. I had to beckon them back into the shot. Funny how people usually assume you don't want to include them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.