Fruitful

Autumn came in with a last blast of summer heat. I continued applying a cold pack to my hip, and by late morning thought that I should try a gentle trip out, as I was leading a field meeting tomorrow, and would need to cancel quite quickly if I really couldn't walk very far. 

Pete and I went to a section of disused road near Castor, which has a profusion of Hedgerow Bramble bushes along it. Climbing over the gate proved rather painful, but thankfully walking wasn't too bad. The brambles were dripping with fruit, which was attracting honey bees, wasps and a few butterflies, including this rather beautiful Comma. 

While Pete walked across the fields to look at a small stream, I gently picked blackberries. The scent of the fruit in the hot sun was almost overpowering. I quickly filled a bag, some of which were turned into stewed blackberry and apple for dessert. I think I'll probably use the remainder to make chutney.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.