An Embarassment of Riches

Some days it's hard to come up with just one good photo to post, and other days, it's very hard to choose.

We said "farewell for now" and "we'll see you again soon" to Aunt S, Cousin W, and her husband B in sunshine this morning, and headed east to Roanoke.

We stopped first in Wytheville, where several of my ancestors first settled in Virginia, and went into the Wythe County Genealogical and Historical Association. I told the pleasant woman who greeted us that I was interested in St. Clair history and that I knew that some of my forebearers had been printers in Wytheville. I referenced an article I'd read in Virginia Cavalcade magazine, written by Mary Kegley. "I'm Mary Kegley," said our greeter.

I couldn't believe my luck! Mary is at the office only on Wednesdays, and that was the day we'd come in. We had a wonderful time chatting and she found some additional resources for me, as well. An author, attorney, and professional researcher, Mary has written 58 books about the history and early settlers of southwest Virginia, who came from Germany, Switzerland, Northern Ireland (Scotch-Irish), and England.

The drive to Roanoke took longer than we'd expected, so we needed a rest in our hotel room before setting out to see some sights. Considering that we arrived at the fascinating Virginia Museum of Transportation half an hour before closing, we saw quite a lot! The huge Class A steam locomotive, built in Roanoke in 1943 in the incredibly short time of two weeks, was awe-inspiring, but I think the enormous model railway set-up was my favorite. You can see both of those attractions, and more, in this album.

Wanting to live up to my journal's name here, as well as at home, we ventured out again, this time to Local Roots, one of the finest "farm to table" restaurants we've ever eaten in, for our final evening meal in Virginia. From the owner, Diane Elliot, who greeted us warmly and was interested in what brought us there, to our thoughtful servers and the cooks behind the scene who turned out such beautiful and delicious dishes, it made for a memorable evening.

The simple, functional, and appealing decor, a vignette of which I chose for today's blip, reflects better than any single dish what the restaurant is like. However, knowing that a few of you like looking at local food -- and knowing I'd want to remember what Phil and I ate -- I put together a small album of photos, including the best fried green tomatoes I've ever had. You can enjoy it here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.