A Lot of Flowers

This is a flower shop in the Fairhaven district of Bellingham. This morning a group of us painters met in Fairhaven to plein air paint. It was chilly and foggy when we first got together. We gathered at Avenue Bread for breakfast and chatting. We hoped the fog would lift which it did a bit. We all spread out to paint. I chose to go behind Village Books to the square where the Wednesday farmer's market was setting up. A Lot of Flowers is a lovely shop that used to be on the front side of the building in a small building with a large area of open garden. But that property is now being turned into a new building so temporarily they are in this little shop. I painted just about what you see in this view. The painting isn't quite done. A few more places to complete. I'll blip it when I finish it. Here is this photograph in large. I took it with my little Sony RX100 and used the illustration mode to make it more like a painting.

At one we all met again for lunch above the book store. The food was delicious and as usual we never ran out of things to say. I had packed away my kit and painting in one of the gal's cars so I decided to spend the rest of the afternoon walking around Fairhaven and doing some shopping. I had a great time.

At 3:30 we all gathered at Gayle's condo nearby for wine, fruit and cheese and more talk. Gail invited a couple of friends to join us. We all shared our paintings from the day and had a lovely time. And Gayle gave me an amazing present, a netsuke that a friend had given her 25 years ago. I was totally flabbergasted and thrilled. We have a collection of these wonderful little carvings and the new rabbit is right at home with the others in our glass case. Thank you so much Gayle!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.