Grateful Days

By Nickimags888

Mono Monday MM189 - Favourite Place

I've been volunteering again for the summer reading challenge at my local library, listening to primary school aged children tell me about their books. It's been great fun and this is my favourite place to sit and when we aren't too busy. When it's packed out I prefer to sit around the corner, where it's a bit quieter and I'm able to focus more on what the children are saying, rather than trying to block the noise of the bored siblings and parents who are waiting.

Today it was manic, with families queueing fifteen minutes before the library was due to open. I literally walked in the door at two o'clock, grabbed my name badge, found my quiet seat around the corner and called the next child from the huge queue. It didn't stop until just before five, when I finally managed to drink a cup of tea!

Thanks to sk for hosting MM this month, more entries here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.