5+ a day

I'm sure most readers will know that the much touted "5 a day" has no scientific backing or basis, it was simply a government think-tank's most achievable outcome. Until I did the participation work for Sport England Id always found it laughable. Then I realised that for many many people it's just not achievable, a shocking state of affairs.

On a personal level, as I begin to get ready for what will be a physically, mentally and emotionally demanding six months I'm starting to once again get my own house in order. Rehab will undoubtedly be hard and I know I'll go insane struggle with being inactive for so long, so I know I need to have a plan and have things to both occupy me and aid my recovery. I know I have a tendency to eat when Im bored - years of burning off everything means that I seldom worry about weight - but combined with couch life?.....
I've long been fascinated by (what I thought was) the Japanese model of 20 ingredients a day- but reading up on it today I discovered its actually 30 - woohoo, challenge set. Combined with another push to try and hugely reduce the Gluten in my diet this should be fun.
Everything in tonight's meal apart from the chicken was home grown, not often we can say that.

I've no intention of doing this in my journal again (I think) but today:
Orange juice, milk, coffee, yoghurt, almonds, walnuts, oats, raisins, satsuma, banana, tea, cheese, ham, eggs, tomato, cucumber, radish, salad leaves, chicken, potatoes (2 varieties), cabbage, French beans, broccoli, mangetout, runner beans, courgette, shallots, red 'grape juice'

29, hmmmm, not as easy as it seems!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.