atoll

By atoll

Waiter, There's a Sky in my Pie

Slightly surreal morning with a meeting in the Raddison Hotel Manchester, to discuss the possibility of doing a spa resort scheme in the Seychelles. Very pie-in-the-sky, and like all speculative work, with the strong probability of crashing and burning - but hey, you're never too old to wish and dream (it would need a site visit, and the salt-water fly fishing is to die for). The coffee served-up today was very nice, and you got a dinky brownie cube with it - so even if it all sinks below the Indian Ocean without trace, all was not lost (I'm easily pleased).

This picture was taken on the M56 near Manchester Airport heading home, and using the Fast Shutter Speed Camera App and iPhone pressed against the window, (Just to reassure everyone, I was not driving but sat in the rear passenger seat!) Given we were travelling at 70mph at the time, I was kind of hoping for focused clouds in the background, and a blurry foreground, but it didn't quite work out. I quite like the allusion to travel, though being pernickety, my clouds don't exactly look pie-like (but hey, maybe a cornish pasty).

Back to earth with a bump this afternoon, and so back to reality work.

Postcript: My title by-the-way, is a quote lifted from the Roger McGough poetry book Sky in My Pie - though in hindsight I now wish I had called it The Ballad of Gilligan's Isle after the theme tune to that nutty US comedy of the 70's.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.