Pale Eggar

When I opened the moth trap this morning, this beauty was there in among the numerous Large yellow underwings and Setaceous hebrew characters.
At first I thought it was a Nut-tree tussock, but then I realized it was in fact a Pale eggar - Trichiura crataegi, another 'lifer' for me and another 'new for garden' in what is proving to be an exceptional mothing year.
The Pale eggar is well distributed, and flies in August and September, and is the only gray member of the Eggar family of moths in the UK.
The larvae feed on a range of shrubs and trees including Birch (yet another reason to keep my tree!).
I have also added a shot of a Vapourer moth Orgyia antiqua larva I found at my Mum's this morning. it is slightly unusual in having dark 'brushes' along the back, instead of the more usual yellow ones. If you look you can clearly see the black fuzzy tipped hairs, that can cause a nasty irritation to the skin....I didn't touch it, but it is rather beautiful and judging by the size will probably become a wingless female moth.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.