Breakey Blips

By ElizabethB

St George's chapel, Windsor Castle

Talk about from the ridiculous to the sublime!
I had a day to fill in London, so I visited Windsor Castle.
It was a wet and miserable afternoon so "only" 7000 visitors had wandered the gilt laden halls of the castle.
I was particularly intrigued by some of the trophy cabinets. Most items said "Presented to His Majesty by His Excellency etc.... ", but there were a few that were labelled "TAKEN at the battle of such and such, or at the siege of city X". It was the plunder of a warlike and acquisitive empire!

I loitered around as the last few visitors were ushered out and then attended evensong in the magnificent chapel. I couldn't have imagined how extreme the comparison with worship in Iona could have been. It was so formal in liturgy, attitude and expectations of the congregation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.