'My bag is packed....'

Well it's not packed yet, but next month!

When I was still teaching, our Dept. hosted young folks on a wonderful volunteering program called 'Everything's Possible' (a European initiative - take note Brexiters!) They would come over for a decent length of time and volunteer in a variety of community services.  We always managed to utilise them within the school, if not within our own faculty, and much appreciated they were.  They brought a breath of fresh air, a different perspective, lots of energy and opened our students' eyes to the possibilities beyond inner city Bradford.  Most memorable for me were Estelle from Spain, Carina from Germany and Tomas from the Czech Republic.

Tomas has remained a firm, if sadly distant friend.  He has visited since returning to work in Czech and each time worked hard to persuade us to go and see his home country.  It has been on the list but sadly not moved very far up it in these busy retirement days.  However...!

Tomas is getting married next month and I am going to be there!  Sadly Tony has a coaching commitment which he cannot move so I am having a solo adventure.  My flight is booked from Manchester to Prague via Frankfurt and my hotel in Prague the first night.  It will be a flying visit to the capital as next day I will be on the train a couple of hours east to Tomas's home town and a wonderful wedding weekend! 

I have rediscovered Tomas's presents on the bookshelves and downloaded a translator app on to my phone (that will be interesting!) and today the very lovely invite to Tomas and Marketa's wedding arrived in the post (central to my blip).  Very excited!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.