Reikes small life...

By Reike

Morning walk through Bern along the zoo before my workshop started. In the evening I first met with a good friend for food and several drinks, then made my way home. 

Roughly an hour into the train journey my train stopped and then got evacuated because of a jumper and we had to wait longer for a replacement bus. Several people were annoyed. One lady said: "That one person had to make life difficult for so many others!" "I said: "I am rather glad I am not in a position like that poor person who was feeling desperate enough to do this!" 


My respect goes to the train company guy who stood up strongly to the complaining moaning people saying: "Look, there is a dead person lying on these tracks and we don't wanna drive more trains over him just so that you will be on time. Now stop complaining and wait for the bus." That certainly shut them up. Bus arrived only a few minutes later anyway.


Arriving finally at the train station in Luzern, the next connection to my town was supposed to only leave in an hour and would have had me change trains again in the middle of the night. Superfriendly train guy put me on a train that usually just passes through my town and ordered an extra stop just for me!!! 
The journey home took me nearly twice as long as planned, but I think the train company did the best they could do under these circumstances. 


I read up today how often people jump in front of trains in Switzerland and it seems there is one jumper every second day!!!  :(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.