Arachne

By Arachne

Way to go

Shortly after I arrived in Oxford 20 years ago some life-sappingly horrible oldy worldy directional signs were installed all over the city centre. Black with embossed gold serif writing. With matching litter bins. Eurgh.

The litter bins were replaced a year or so ago and recently some sharp, elegant signs have been appearing. They include maps, wayfinding arrows, snippets of local history, illustrations and QR codes for more information. I love them. What a fun project to write and design that must have been. I feel a bit envious.

The guy sitting on the ground got really animated when I told him how much I like them. This is the twentieth to be installed - he thinks there are ten more to go - and he also loves them. He's looking forward to finishing the installation of this one this evening and removing the protective covering from the beautiful - he tells me - gunmetal and bronze frame.

I have no idea what his mate with the drill thinks of them. Clearly too knackered to talk, poor lad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.