Pferdeschorschi

By schorschi

Don't Fret

Posting this on 9th September 2017, 50 years and 3 days late. Interestingly days of the week are the same.

At the moment in 2017, we have just witnessed the record breaking hurricane "Harvey", a category 4 storm, the first one to make landfall in Texas since 1961. As I write, one of the worst ever recorded hurricanes, the category 5 "Irma" has left a trail of destruction and 20 deaths in the Caribbean, is over Cuba and heading up the entire Florida coast. Backing it up is the next hurricane "Jose" but it seems this will veer off in to the Atlantic For all those affected by the storms, our thoughts are with you and in particular my friends Tino and family, Walt, Maureen. 


In 1992 my boss from 1990/1 David, moved from Munich to join the company's subsiduary Burger King at their HQ in Miami. He was greeted by Hurricane "Andrew" at that time the worst ever storm to hit the USA and until now, still the worst to have hit Florida. He said it was chaos.

To the photo itself - it is of my diary entry written on that day, part of a school project we were required to do in the summer holidays. My school was in Somerset, UK but my home and the place I wrote this entry was the Caribbean island of Trinidad. And the reason I am posting it, is that my daughter Kate in Ireland has just posted on Facebook a photo of one of her rescue, still half naked hens standing in front of the terrace glass doors begging to be let in and out of the rain. Reminded me of my experience 50 years ago.

My diary doesn't record any hurricanes in Trinidad that summer holidays but does show a freak wind storm that amongst others destroyed a hen house - newspaper evidence to follow. It also reports on some flooding in the north of the island which may have been the edge of a hurricane.

Trinidad is quite well protected from hurricanes as it is very close to Venezuela and south of the usual path they take. I don't remember in the 15 odd years I was there, of there being any serious damage.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.