CoffeePotter

By CoffeePotter

Jaffe et Fils

We stumbled across this lovely building quite by accident early this evening. I had forgotten to buy leeks for the meal I had planned (smoked haddock and haricot bean gratin - we're now in cooking mode once more) so we both went into Axminster, bought the leeks, then followed some signs which intrigued us.
A bit of research shows that Jaffe (actually needs an acute accent which I can't do on my phone) et Fils is a feather business and dyeworks, which supplies, amongst other customers, the Ministry of Defense, with feather bonnets, hackles, plumes, and Glengarrys for the Scots Guards, and several other regiments as well as pipe and marching bands throughout the world.
You learn something every day.
The village breakfast this morning was excellent and we met many people there, whose names I will try to remember, but I'm dreadful at remembering names. They did do bacon butties, plus every variation of whatever you could wish for in an English breakfast, with the most expensive option, at £5 being 7 items, i.e. bacon, sausage, egg, mushrooms, tomatoes, beans, and fried bread. I'm glad it's only once a month!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.