dailykeith

By dailykeith

Grand Canyon

We got up at 5am so we could be in position at the Grand Canyon for when the sun rose at 6.03 - normally a spectacular event. Sadly, though, it was wet and the twilight revealed an overcast sky and a fair bit of mist.

I managed to turn this to my advantage, getting some nice misty shots with my Nikon. But as I won't be able to upload those images until I return to the UK, this inferior phone shot will have to do until I can change it.

For anyone who hasn't visited the Grand Canyon, it truly is the most breathtaking sight. We were 7,000ft up looking down into this immense space. How often can you say you've been able to look *down* on the majestic condor gliding around looking for prey?

The geology, as everyone knows, is remarkable. But if you think 'oh, I've seen all there is to see of the Grand Canyon in photos', then think again. As I walked along the south rim, I would stop repeatedly for several minutes at a time and just let the view reveal more of itself to me. It was remarkable how this meditative approach suddenly revealed hidden gems in this awe-inspiring landscape. It was a marvellous experience.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.