Let Me Brighten Up Your Day

Every colorful thread on this dress is hand sewn. The base fabric is some kind of tulle/netting, and serves as a grid for the intricate embroidery.

Fifth Annual Molé and Mariachi Festival, benefiting Friends of Santa Cruz State Parks and Santa Cruz Mission Park. We opted out of the Chavela (Mexican beer mixed with tomato juice and stirred with a stick of celery), but tried eight different molés prepared by chefs and restaurants competing for Best of Festival. My favorite was always the one that was currently in my mouth, but then I buckled down, and after great diligence and savoring we both voted for a complex smoky, hot, chocolatey and yummy sauce. Food booths, beer and wine, lively music and spirited performances by local musicians and dancers like the young woman above rounded out the afternoon.

And, yes, I am feeling better. Woke up this morning and my week long headache was gone! What a sensible way to celebrate: eat spicy food and stand around in the sun! I am just so darn happy to not be hurting, that everything that comes down the pike is terrific.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.