Jeanettie6

By Jeanettie6

A happy seaside day today! I set off this morning on the train from Waterloo station down to Exeter. We were speeding along nicely until the drab old announcement that no one wants to hear, that the 'train will be terminating at Gillingham due to signalling problems and there will be a replacement bus service to Yeovil where trains will be running on to Exeter'. A bit of deja vu! I lost an hour of my time in Devon, but got to Exeter eventually and managed to fit in a short trip to Exmouth, so all was well!

I hadn't been to Exmouth since I was about 11 years old (back in the Dark Ages). I walked along the beach and up on to the cliffs along the Coastal Path for a way..lovely views up there! I wanted to walk for a few miles along there, but didn't have enough time and ended up (almost) running for the train back to Exeter..I tend to lose track of time! I'll definitely go back there when I've got more time to walk along to Sandy Bay and beyond.

I just had time for a quick coffee in the sun by the Quayside in Exeter on the way back..I've never been to the Quay before, that was rather pleasant.

Quite a long way just for a few hours, but well worth it I thought!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.