Anagach Woods and the River Spey

It felt like I was starting with a cold last night, so in the early hours of this morning I was struggling to sleep, so went to doze on the sofa. I'm so pleased I did. Although there was patchy cloud outside I did manage glimpses of a spectacular show - the Northern Lights! There had been some alerts from the University of Lancaster earlier in the day and they weren't wrong. What a start to the day!

As I hadn't slept much we didn't walk too far today. We went from Grantown-on-Spey through Anagach Woods and along the River Spey. The woods are a natural Scots pinewood. We spied more red squirrels and it was a quiet, pleasant walk. There were lots of signs around to watch out for Capercaillie, but they're quite elusive birds, and we never saw one.

We finished the day off with coffee and cake in Grantown-on-Spey. It's a handsome looking town, and much quieter than Aviemore.

I found out later that my dad has been given a different dose of his steroid drug and I hadn't been informed of the change. That meant I was telling the carer yesterday the completely wrong information.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.