Mrs Cyclops

By MrsCyclops

Cursed Child

I didn't read the script of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child when it came out, as I was determined to access it in the manner in which it was intended.

Well, 13 months ago I spent 10 hours in an online queue (I started at 43,000th in the queue!) and I got tickets for the play on my birthday. Noteably, the play is set (according to posters and so on) "19 years later" which means I actually attended it the weekend the action commences. Awesome.

Actually when I say play I mean two plays, it is a two parter with six hours of watching in it. A low art version of the Ring Cycle...

I managed to remain almost spoiler free. I heard one thing and that turned out to be important and not revealed until near the end - but was sufficiently vague that it didn't ruin the story or suspense.

Well, the play has had great critical acclaim and quite rightly as the production and special effects were stunning.

Die hard Potterheads have been polarized on the content, many considering the script 'fanfic' and saying certain people act out of character.

Having now read some detailed critiques it is my view that the vast majority of the issues are addresed by seeing the play live. So I'm glad I did that first. A script just doesn't convey the visual or emotional in the same way. I also suspect that a few inconsistencies have been cleared up between the script and the current production. As for character differences, well Harry Potter and his crew are coming up 40. You try coming up 40 and see if you are the same as you were when you were in high school. Personally, I liked it. It was exciting and almost overwhelming to be watching it and realise that every single word was new canon.

I'm also going to put it out there that a certain plot point means I am a Harry Potter genius. Oh yes. A genius.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.