Mono Monday 190 - Warning

Today's Mono Monday theme is - Favourite Poem.  A difficult choice as I have many.  However this is one I love, especially one line that runs through my head each time I go out.


Warning ( by Jenny Joseph )
When I am an old woman I shall wear purple
With a red hat which doesn't go, and doesn't suit me.
And I shall spend my pension on brandy and summer gloves
And satin sandals, and say we have no money for butter.
I shall sit down on the pavement when I am tired
And gobble up samples in shops and press alarm bells.
And run my stick along the public railings
And make up for the sobriety of my youth.
I shall go out in my slippers in the rain
And pick the flowers in other peoples gardens
And learn to spit.

I am hopeless at including links, but here goes.  The author reading the whole poem :
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8cACbzanitg

Thank you to sk for hosting throughout September.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.