My life fragments 2023

By MrsLinda

MonoMonday Favourite Poem

There are many poems I like but when asked I know none by heart. I admire the old generations who knew quite long poems by heart and were able to recite them.

I have chosen a fusion between a poem and song lyrics. Karel Kryl was a famous song writer and poet. They called him 'a poet with a guitar'. He wrote many protest songs agains communism and its inhumanity. This is one of them.

THE ANGEL

Out of a crumbling church I brought
in a box with some soap in
an angel which must have been caught
because his wings were broken
He looked upon me doting, calm,
I felt inconsequential
so I pressed something in his palm
a perfume flask, essential

[Refrain:]
Trust me, I had gone far
to ask him the question
there with the door ajar
to seek direction
what fate I have to face,
what fate I have to face

We watched the sky and it was odd
to see the birds all flying
we got debating about God
and playing soldiers, dying.
He hid his face away from me
I could not see his features
maybe he envied, quietly
seeing those flying creatures.

[R:]

While he was telling me new things
a bedroom window mission
I hammered him a pair of wings
out of brass ammunition
And so my angel I did lose
he flew away forever
my friend will make me one I chose
out of my helmet, severed.

[R:]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.