Jack James

By JackJames

Daily Commute

So, after last night, I ended up getting drunk without drinking too much, with the result that I slept though the first lecture at uni. Determined to make the next, I jumped out of bed, and without breakfast (or a shower...) literally had to sprint to make the bus. I texted Arminel to see if she'd meet me in the cafeteria - and as it turned out, she was in bed as well - classes were cancelled.

I felt better for being up and about, however, and went to Arm's to write up the lecture notes I'd missed, and then we popped to a café to have breakfast in the sun. It always surprises me how cheap everything is - ?2 for a huge coffee and massive slice of french toast and jam, and this is on one of the 'touristy' streets, sitting in the sun. Makes you wonder how we in the UK put up with paying £3 for a coffee alone!

Back home, I was fidgety, so went for a walk, wrote some postcards, and discovered an amazingly intricate church façade just round the corner from where I live. I would tell you some information about it, but it has absolutely no online presence, let alone any info on the church itself. As I sat on it's sunny steps a small trickle of choirboys and their mums went in and out of a side door.

Went round to Giacomo's house for tea - home made lasagne, Italian style, and cake, British style. It's his 21st birthday today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.