Mono Monday : Poem

Here's some clouds, inspired by the first couple of lines of one of my favourite poems, by W.B. Yeats.


 An Irish airman foresees his death

I know that I shall meet my fate
Somewhere among the clouds above;
Those that I fight I do not hate,
Those that I guard I do not love;
My country is Kiltartan Cross,
My countrymen Kiltartan's poor,
No likely end could bring them loss
Or leave them happier than before.
Nor law, nor duty bade me fight,
Nor public men, nor cheering crowds,
A lonely impulse of delight
Drove to this tumult in the clouds;
I balanced all, brought all to mind,
The years to come seemed waste of breath,
A waste of breath the years behind
In balance with this life, this death.

It's a sombre subject, and the poem can be interpreted in various ways from a political point of view, but the rhythm of the words just makes the poem memorable for me.. The pop group Keane must like it too, because they based their song A Bad Dream on it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.