Gochan6

By Gochan6

my little acorn

A few years ago, we were walking through a park, and there were acorns on the ground. I picked one up, put it in my pocket, and a few days later, planted it in a pot on our balcony. I remember telling a mate of mine and he laughed and said it would never grow. It was winter, I don't have a 'green-thumb', and to be truthful about it, I didn't really know if it would grow or not either.
For a number of months, I watered the pot of soil, and checked it for any sign of growth. Then one day, I noticed a tiny shoot pushing through the soil. Perhaps it was just a weed that had seeded from the soil. Maybe a week or two later, it didn't look so much like a weed.
My little acorn had sprouted. It seemed like a little miracle. It actually grew!
At first, I could count the leaves, and knew the number each day and week.
Today, I've long lost count. I don't know the terminology - it's just my little tree now, with a trunk, and branches, and leaves.
Here is a small part of the 'tree, that grew from an acorn, that I picked up off the ground a few years ago

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.