Geocaching - CBHobby

I saw the Cultural Blip challenge running at the moment and with a few options available I decided to represent geocaching as my hobby. I know I'm not the only blipper who geocaches and I'm sure many people are now aware of what it involves. Essentially it is the art of finding hidden boxes using a GPS.

Geocaching started in 2000 and I was a fairly early adopter finding my first cache at the beginning of 2004. I have now found just over 7500 and although it sounds a lot it has really been a steady amount over 13 years. There are plenty of people who take it a lot more seriously than me and have found a lot more in a shorter period of time.

A couple of reasons why I like it. Firstly it keeps me fit and active and secondly it takes me to places I would never otherwise visit. Over the years I have had some fantastic adventures and the more recent ones have occasionally featured in my blips. One of my personal favourite statistics is that I have found caches in 49 different countries.  

Today I went for a walk around the Daresbury and Moore area of Cheshire. I had a vague plan when I set off and it just evolved from there. I suspect I must have walked around six miles in the end.

This was one of the caches I found and you can just about make out that the cache was hidden in a hollowed out log.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.