With One Eye Wide Open

By CB

I know how you feel my dear niece.

This is my niece Mikaela, older sister of the angel Gabrielle, and she's turning 7 tomorrow. Tomorrow, the same day when I have to bid them goodbye. I took her shopping for her birthday present today and guess what her choice was? A scooter! Not a doll, or a girly toy but a scooter! At least she picked the one with a Barbie design. I guess I shouldn't be surprised, I would have asked for the same thing if I was her! Lol!

I know I shouldn't have any favourites but I have to admit Mika is the one closest to my heart. She is my Godchild after all and I took part care of her when she was still an infant whenever her parents where away. She used to sleep on top of my tummy like a frog, now I can barely lift her. I sometimes wish time would slow down.

So yes, tomorrow will both be a birthday and a farewell celebration. Saying goodbye to my family gets more difficult every passing year. I guess we really can't have the best of both worlds. 'Til my next homecoming my dear. I'll miss you terribly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.