A slice of my life today...

It's been an all over the map type of day today....

One customer was late, two items weren't loaded on the trailer for another customer and I had to go to downtown Seattle with one case of odd parts (it would have been much easier in my pickup) but part of my job is going the extra mile... especially for the high paying customers..

I stopped for lunch on the way back to the yard and there was a driver there I used to work with 7 years ago.. It was nice to know he was doing well, plans to retire in 4 years, his wife (I also worked with) retired at the end of last year and is back working in a 4-H club teaching knitting and crocheting.. I also found out in the last two years 4 guys that I used to work with (John, Art, Richard and Mike) passed away.. They were all in their 50's.. That was a reminder why I walked alway in 2010 when the company I worked for went bankrupt, another company bought the assets, tried to get as many drivers to come over as possible but you had to stay an outlaw and cook the books.. (That company is now on probation and cleaning itself up after it's operating authority was nearly taken from them) I knew in 2011 the laws were going to get real tough on drivers and I wanted to start taking care of myself.. 16 years as an outlaw already had taken a toll on me.. In the last 7 years I am now in my 6th trucking job.. I hope it is the charm.. So far it seems that way..  

I stopped by home to download some music to bring my dad, and then headed over to see him.. He is still "trying to escape", there are "cats" everywhere, he was quite all over the map today.. but when the music was on.. he sang along with all of it... Although I want him healthy and happy... at least a physical ailment can be dealt with.. with mental it's day by day... sigh...  As I left one of the caregivers gave me a chunk of fresh, still warm, homemade bread.. We could not have found a better place for my dad...

A long but easy day tomorrow... Up in 7 hours.. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.