Serendipity

“Seek not greater wealth, but simpler pleasure; not higher fortune, but deeper felicity.” - Mahatma Gandhi

The forecast was calling for rain to arrive at some point, but I was feeling lucky - I so often am - and I didn't bother taking my umbrella when I stopped at the Arboretum for a few quick pictures. And so, of course, guess what: Ms. Lucky got rained on!

I was standing in the children's garden photographing birds when the first drops hit. Or rather, I was trying to capture a shot of the chipmunk who'd been raiding the bird feeders. It was pretty darn cute, you see. But I never got a shot of the chipmunk at the feeders. Because: rain.

So I quickly put my camera in its bag. It was early enough that the doors to the Glass House were still locked, or I'd have taken shelter there from the rain. So I hustled on over to the Overlook Pavilion, where I took refuge; and also, where I looked up to see this charming view.

In the foreground are some pink flowers I did not know existed. (The bees love them, by the way.) And there behind them is the Glass House. Out of sight just to the right is the water map.

I simply stood there for a few minutes and watched the rain, and I was deeply happy about such a simple thing as an unexpected, lovely view. In the end, the photos I took here were my favorite pictures of the day. 

If it weren't for the rain, and for Ms. Lucky leaving behind her umbrella (which I swear I never do!), and for the Glass House being locked, I wouldn't have even seen this view. Thank you to the rain. Thank you, Serendipity!

For the soundtrack . . . The 2001 film Serendipity, starring John Cusack and Kate Beckinsale, is one of my favorites. And if I pick a movie to watch on my birthday, it is often this one. The story begins when two strangers squabble over a pair of black cashmere gloves in a department store. And it goes from there. (The film's obituary scene, by the way, is among my favorite pieces in any film.) Anyhow, I recommend the movie to all hopeless (or perhaps rather hopeful) romantics. :-) Here is a song from its soundtrack to go with this image: Nick Drake, with Northern Sky.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.