A concrete love affair

By PhotoIain

Autobahnkapelle Hamm

It was a very long drive of 517 miles from Poznań in Poland to Düsseldorf in Germany today!

En route we stopped at a few places including Swizbodzin in Poland where a 52 metre tall statue of Jesus looms above the town.

Other stops had a religious context as well.. With one Autobahn Kircher and here near Hamm a Autobahnkapelle which opened in 2009 beside the A2.

I find myself rather fascinated by these structures and couldn't resist visiting. Rather serendipitously I pulled into this service area for fuel, and only then did we discover the Autobahnkapelle. Hamm is also the hometown of an old German friend of mine!

When I visit churches, most often for their architectural points of interest, I always light a candle for my friend Stewart.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.