Delayed and Dismal

I had to travel to Exeter for work today.  Three of us flew to Bristol, only our flight was delayed 2 1/2 hours thanks to earlier problems with French air traffic control (on strike) delaying our aircraft on an earlier journey.

That meant that instead of arriving at our hotel at 9pm, we arrived at 11:30pm.  Then it turned out my hotel room was dismal, but I was too tired to do anything other than fall into the (shabby) bed. My e-mail to them the next morning (no reply received) covers my experience.

Mould, noise, and a hopeless shower


I stayed with you last night and I just wanted to offer you some feedback on my experience.
 
We arrived late and exhausted after a delayed flight, and had to be out early this morning, so I didn’t have time or energy to pass this on at the time.
 
My room (#21 in the “Bungalow”) was really in a poor state.  Much of the wallpaper was peeling,  there were numerous blackened patches of damp on the roof and walls.  The coving in the bathroom was all showing signs of black mould.  It felt damp, and smelled of cleaning chemicals of some sort.
 
The plumbing was incredibly noisy.  Every time someone else in the building used it, there was a screeching noise followed by a prolonged clatter.  The first time it woke me up I thought it was tiles falling off the roof it was that loud.
 
The shower was pretty pathetic too, it wouldn’t hold a stable temperature being alternately scalding and cold.
 
The price was inexpensive, it’s a good location, breakfast was pleasant, but I don’t expect a mouldy room with plumbing that wakes me several times through the night from any hotel.
 

Maybe it’s just that room as my colleagues didn’t have the same experience, but it’s not good enough.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.