Up on the roof

We went into Duncan today for a follow-up appointment for G.  A huge structure is being built beside the medical centre, and I should have written down the name of it.  I thought I'd remember - ha!  Apparently it will house mostly physiotherapists.  Most of the structure was behind wire fencing, but I went around the back where there was no fencing and got close enough to take this before the carpenters spotted me.  I walked around a bit, and the one in the straw hat yelled, "Hello!" at me.  I yelled back.  They didn't question me, so I should have asked if they'd mind if I took a few photos.  I don't like seeing workers without safety gear up on roofs.  And unlike in this song, being up on a roof is not my idea of a paradise.  When we were building our log house, I was up on the roof holding an insulated metal chimney in place while G lined it up with the stove.  It was very windy and I got scared, couldn't let go of the chimney.  G had to come up and lead me down (after he had the chimney in place, of course), help me put my first foot on the ladder. Humiliating.  It wasn't the first time I'd been up on the roof, but it was the last.  And I am afraid of heights.  :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.