the persistence of trees

We went down to the South Lakes today, to Grizedale Forest and an exhibition I wanted to see. The Long View describes in words and pictures two years with seven remarkably ordinary trees.

Photographer Rob Fraser and writer Harriet Fraser spent time visiting the seven trees in their Cumbrian landscapes, in all seasons and times of day. And this is a fascinating exhibition, with some beautiful photography and gorgeous words. The book to accompany the exhibition, which of course I bought, is a joy.

The blip is a record of a walk they took, over seven days and nights, to visit each of the trees.  Each section is made from the wood of the seven tree species in the order of the walk between them. I love it. The sentiment it captures is one I can attune to, despite my not being able to walk as much as I used to.
 
More details here.
 
Extra – the seven trees.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.