Natural surprise

Last Monday son no2 found a piece of greenish growth lying in the grass when we were mowing the grass over at the other house and I took it home to possibly dissect later. I did think it might have  come from the magnolia tree but I couldn't remember the shape of magnolia seed-pods, which they do have occasionally. At home I put it on my side table and didn't look at it until late yesterday. Imagine my surprise when all the round shapes had burst open and bright red berry-like seeds are showing through the bursts. I have found out it may be possible to grow a new magnolia from them, what fun !
I know they're not flowers , but maybe they can qualify for Flower Friday anyway? With thanks to Anni/BikerBear for hosting :-)

Thanks very much for your kind comments, stars  and even faves for yesterday's curvy abstract :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.