Hector's House

By MisterPrime

Waterways

Had a meeting this morning at the Nottinghamshire Archives in town down by the canal. Unfortunately the Archives building itself is a pretty boring nondescript redbrick affair but the British Waterways building opposite is pretty cool. The whole area has been spruced up in recent years - in general with much urban riverside - though the results are a bit mixed. When I first moved to Nottingham in the early 90's it was much grungier - I remember a pretty dodgy pub with an upstairs room where bands played, called the Narrowboat. I can't remember many bands I did see there but one I didn't was the Palace Brothers - I recall the flyers looking interesting but I hadn't heard anything by them at the time. A missed opportunity - a couple of years later their debut album was on pretty constant rotation on my walkman...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.