The New Me!

I have spent most of my adult life being a night owl - I'd come alive at 10pm and staying up way past midnight was somewhat normal. I used to say that my favourite time of day was between 10pm and 2am. Getting up in the morning has been a huge struggle. I've always wondered what would happen if I had an extended time off work - what my body clock would revert to when I wasn't constantly crossing multiple time zones several times a month.

I'm not sure if it's entirely due to the extended time away from work - even before I took the summer off I was feeling more tired earlier in the evening. Maybe it's just me getting older! But I am waking up much earlier in the morning now, sometimes as early as 4 or 5am. Spending the summer on the continent with the one hour time difference shouldn't make all that much difference, but I do still fee as if I am still on continental time.

All that to say I am awake very early in the morning these days. I've always felt I missed out on a great time of the day by not being a morning person, so I welcome the change. So much so that I have been out on sunrise walks the last 2 mornings. I enjoy the beauty and the freshness of the early morning. I also want to make sure I keep walking even though I no longer have Dolly to keep me active! We almost never did morning walks - she loved to sleep ALL morning and way into the afternoon if she could! I also think it's good for me to keep visiting our favourite spots. It would be no good to avoid them just because I miss her. So this morning I walked around one of our nearby lakes, and very beautiful it was. I hope you enjoy the sunrise!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.