Pferdeschorschi

By schorschi

Sightseeing

Posting this in September 2017 - 47 years later

In the hotel which was clearly set up for large groups, we had breakfast every morning and usually lunch and dinner. I know that dinner was always served with bottles of wine on the tables and I suspect also at lunch. This fact will become of importance later.

After breakfast, each day was full of sightseeing in and around Rome and on one day a trip to Castel Gondolfo, the Pope's summer residence.

One of the sights was of course St Peter's Basilica itself. The photo was taken from the top. The three in the photo were all friends but I can't for the life of me remember the names of the two on the left. The first was a sporting superman and was clearly hoping for a cricket match with the Vatican XI. In the middle; I am sure Irish based and judging by the clothes, destined to be a horse trainer especially with the lapel badge no doubt for the Members Enclosure at Ascot.

On the right, Jonathan W, as always the epitome of sartorial elegance. Whether in sports gear, school uniform or as here in casuals, he could not to be outdone -from top to toe.

Jonathan and I had been friends since  September 1962 when we both started at a preparatory boarding school in Somerset, All Hallows. I am pretty sure that he and his family had on several occasions rescued me at times when the school was closed for a short period or on days where one traditionally had a days outing or visit from the family eg Prize Day picnic in summer.

Ever since leaving Downside in July 1972, I had not had any contact with him and in wanting to post this, thought I would do the proverbial Google after Facebook failed. And sure enough, up he popped with his own business website from which I got the email address and sent off a message. Shortly afterwards got a lovely reply from his wife saying he was away on a trip at the moment but she had been highly amused at the photo and had in the meantime at least managed to get him to abandon his neckerchief. I didn't admit to her that I still have a large drawer full of paisley patterned neckerchiefs and scarves, many home-made by my mother for me - they were all the rage back then and it's simply a matter of time before they are back.

Looking forward to his reaction. I have found a few more, even older, photos of him.

The Bavarian radio station I listen to, BR1, plays oldies all day. Whenever I hear the Kinks, I automatically think of Jonathan. They were always well dressed and hits such as Dedicated Follower of Fashion, Dandy, A Well Respected Man,  all fit - not the specific text but the feel and the YouTube videos of the fashions of that era do give an idea of what was IN.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.