The Great Tabberas

You will never guess who turned up at the summer house today! My cousin A with her dad, bringing a spare bed from a well known furniture store to be reassembled in our second bedroom. Yay! I sometimes snooze in this bed, so I appreciate the new comfy mattress.

I couldn't believe it when the humans left me behind to go to the small camping restaurant. Today was the very last day of the season it was open, and they were having a tabberas! Tabberas means that you get to eat everything that is left! Of everything! I mean, that is right up my alley!

Mum's plate was unprecedented, even from a smörgåsbord kind of perspective. Shrimp sandwich, the traditional potato pancake raggmunk with salted pork belly, schnitzel with bearnaise sauce and fries with homemade ostkaka (fresh cheese cake) with jam and whipped cream and raspberry cake for dessert.

She did bring a piece of schnitzel back. She did put it on the veranda table. She did forget it was there. And I snatched it and wolfed down the whole thing before she realised it had happened. Yay!!

If you think you've heard of tabberas before, it's probably from Astrid Lindgren's Emil in Lönneberga.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.