Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Saturday Bath

This bird  stayed at the bird bath bowl for about 10 minutes today.   He was such a delight to watch as he looked around, took a dip in the bath, then sat there just chilling in the heat.   I think it heard me the dog making all kinds of noise as I tried to get photos out the window!
 

On another happy note, I called my friend Danny who lives around the bend about a mile who takes care of our house when we are away to tell him I had some food for him.  Soup leftover from Monday and a Mexican dish I made last night.   Since he is a batchelor I knew he would welcome food he did not have to cook!   Anyway, when I dropped the food off, he had a surprise for me..a CAMELLIA BUSH, he had started from seed and he said all the seeds he planted except two pots came up.  The bush is about 3 feet tall..probably would have cost me $15 or $20 at the garden center for this size.   He said it was dark rose colored with some white (he thinks!)  I don't care!   I will be glad to see if he will bloom this winter or early spring.     He also showed me his pomegranate tree where he had three pomegranates!   The man has a green thumb up to his elbow!  I also came away with some other things, 2 little succulents and a handful of spider plant starts!    A very good trade off for leftover food!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.