Legacy

By Legacy

Punkins

Pumpkins will probably be a hot blip topic this month, but when I saw these at the market they immediately reminded me of an impromptu family pumpkin carving party we had a few years ago. Not everyone in our family gets excited about Halloween or pumpkins so it was a real achievement when my daughter managed to get us all, curmudgeons included and, amazingly, her two grown sons who professed to have better things to do, in a room with a pile of pumpkins and all necessary carving tools to achieve the impossible -- a lot of really interesting pumpkin people/animals, a lot of laughs and a wonderful memory. So, to all of you who might resist such an activity, loosen up and have fun. This blip is more about the memory than the pumpkins, especially since our family is now scattered all over the place this kind of event is not likely to happen again. Take it from me, you'll never regret making memories even if the the event doesn't seem noteworthy at the time. Go for it, and if you need some help getting started, I'll be happy to ask my daughter how she pulled it off -- we're still unsure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.