RSD Photo's SoCal Life

By rsdphotography

Parade Day

After a week's buildup (in my own mind anyway), today was the big Independence Day parade. Significant overnight rain meant I had to take a combi (small bus) into town rather than riding my bicycle as I had planned. I wasn't even sure there would be a parade given the comments on Facebook talking about flooded streets. Regardless, I got downtown a little before nine, thinking things would probably get going about ten. The only evidence that something might be happening was the increased presence of state police along the sidewalks, but I had no idea whether anything was going to take place. I was just about to give up when I heard a band. At last. I'm not sure what I expected, but this parade was like something out of an old cold war movie - lines of marching military and military equipment (no tanks though). Fun to see, but it was sooooo hot. Just take a close look at this guys camouflaged face. I was dressed much more comfortably, but I was sweating almost as much. Glad I saw it, but I heard from our gardener this morning that the real celebration was last night at the basketball court. There is always next year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.